Sunday, January 19, 2014

Hand, foot and mouth disease: a natural history*

Herpalgesia.
Neuropathy. Scabs. Fatigue.
Skin and nails peel off**.

*after the fever and delirium have resolved.
**after five weeks, I'm still at this stage.

I could have inserted a photo

Disgusting to clean
A washing machine filter
Emetogenic

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Confession

I'm too impatient
To watch a whole fireworks show
I find them boring

Thursday, October 17, 2013

What's worse - the music or the number plates?



Unmistakeable
Noise of "No Limits" from the
Car of "DJ LES"

Two cars behind him
"P1AY3R" and his passenger
Mock-strangle themselves

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Smally

Your cheeky chuckles,
Conspiratorial smiles
And two tiny teeth.


Saturday, April 27, 2013

What's that smell?

Hot water broken
Showering becomes a chore
Hygiene may suffer

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Serendipitous poetry from the New York Times

from an article about "disgraced former congressman" Weiner
from an interview with Isabel Allende, author and rapid pooper
  
from a book review
Love this haiku bot.
Saves time reading paper, such
relevant stories.

via swissmiss

Sunday, March 31, 2013

I'm a little queasy right now

Uneasy feeling
Finding worms after eating
Half of your mango

Monday, March 25, 2013

Houseguest

Sticky hair dryer
Hope it was not mistaken
For an adult toy

Monday, February 11, 2013

Another heat wave. Yawn.

Flocks of sheep shelter
Under huge Xanthorrhoea
In their woollen coats

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Procrastination

Retrosternal squeeze
Dry eyes, dry mouth, dry humour
Lesson never learnt

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Blue Album concert review

Weezer I love you.
Allowing me to relive
the sweet hope of youth

Monday, December 31, 2012

It will be 2013 in 5 hours!

Sweltering, sweating,
swanning about sans sweaters,
swallowing, swilling.

PS if you'd like to comment on my 13 "ethical" resolutions for 2013, they're on my other blog.


New Year resolution - spend less time reading blogs

"From your 1,021 subscriptions, over the last 30 days you read 6,262 items, clicked 852 items, starred 3 items, and emailed 50 items.

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Achievements today

Joined the library,
bought contacts, slept, washed my hair,
survived the heatwave,

Changed the bedsheets,
found missing remote control,
changed some batteries.

Monday, December 24, 2012

Tinnitus is very annoying, especially when paired with vertigo

It is Christmas Eve
I can hear bells a-ringing
No, it's tinnitus

Thursday, December 6, 2012

I love my job (aka Can You Smell the Difference?)

Dead animal smell
or urine-permeated soft
furnishings smell?

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Two minutes to freedom (and cleanliness)

The time always crawls
Whenever I am on-call
Wanting to shower